History Background

The province of Davao de Oro was formerly known as Compostela Valley and was carved from the Davao del Norte province by virtue of Republic Act 8470 ratified on 8 March 1998. It celebrates its founding anniversary every 8th of March. The province was officially renamed from Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro by virtue of Republic Act 11297 approved on 17 April 2019 and ratified through a plebiscite held on 7 December 2019.

Prospero S. Amatong was the first Governor of Compostela Valley, who held the position only for a day on 25 March 1998 as he filed his certificate of candidacy for the congressional seat in the 2nd District of the new province. He was succeeded by Luz M. Sarmiento, who was appointed governor from March 27, 1998 to June 30, 1998. Atty. Jose R. Caballero succeeded Gov. Sarmiento as the first elected governor of Compostela Valley from 1998 to 2007. Arturo T. “Chiongkee” Uy became the second elected governor of the province from 2007 to 2016. He was succeeded by his son, Jayvee Tyron L. Uy, who became the youngest governor of the province’s history at 31 years old and assumed office as the current Governor since July 1, 2016.

Physical Characteristics

Davao de Oro is located in the middle-eastern part of Davao Region, bounded by Agusan del Sur on the North, Davao Oriental on the East and the South, Davao Gulf on the Southwest and Davao del Norte on the West. It is comprised of eleven (11) municipalities with 237 barangays and sub-divided into two (2) legislative districts.

Davao de Oro has a land area of 4,666.93 sq. km., which is 14.73 percent of the total land area of Davao Region. Around 19 percent of the land area, or 1,530.97 sq. km, is classified as Alienable and Disposable and 26.53 percent, or 3,135.96 sq. km, is classified as forestland.

Topography and slope

The terrain of the province consists of flat, rolling, hilly, and mountainous portions, which are evenly distributed throughout the area. The highest elevation in the province reaches a height of more than 2,000 meters above sea level (MASL), and this is found in the municipalities of Maragusan, New Bataan, and Pantukan which has an aggregate area of 80.89 square kilometers or 1.73 percent of the total land area of the province. The lowest elevation is below 100 MASL with Laak having the widest area of 2.1537 sq. km., while New Bataan has the narrowest of 19.10 sq. km.

Water resources

The province has a total of 2.681 sq. km. water body in the forestland. Various forms of water bodies are available in the province, which serve as sources for water needs of the populace. Springs (hot and cold) registered the most number at 314 followed by creeks at 115. There are also eighteen (18) major river basins in the Philippines covering 37.50 percent of the total land area of the country.

Climate and rainfall

The province is generally tropical with no marked rainy or dry season. Its mountain ranges and forests protect the area from typhoons. However, some parts of the municipalities of Mawab, Monkayo, Montevista, and Nabunturan are flooded when there is continuous heavy rainfall. Rainy season is most likely to occur between the months of May and January of the ensuing year with pronounced maximum rainfall during October to December. Dry season is likely to start from February to April. 

Mineral resources

The province has rich deposits of metallic and non-metallic mineral resources. Metallic resources include gold, silver, copper and iron among others with both large and small-scale mining operations present. Total revenues of (Php) 98,495,748.55 million pesos was generated from these mineral resources as of 2015. Small-scale mining is more on gold and silver extraction and or exploration. Due to the huge reserves of gold in its municipalities, the Mines and GeoSciences Bureau (MGB) declared Davao de Oro Province as the Gold District in the Davao Region. 

Demographic Characteristics

Davao de Oro has a total population of 767,547 (Philippine 2020 Census of Population and Housing) and is the second most populous province in Davao Region. The Annual Population Growth Rate (APGR) of 0.88 percent (2015-2020 intercensal years) is the second fastest among five (5) provinces in the region.

Of the total household population in the province, 51.41 percent reported Cebuano or Bisaya as their ethnicity. Other ethnic groups are Boholano, Mansaka, Hiligaynon/Ilonggo, Mandaya, Dibabawon, Waray, Ilocano, and Davaweño.

Socio-economic Characteristics

The province of Davao de Oro is classified as first class province with an actual total revenue generated of PhP 2,307,268,802.87 in 2019.


Agricultural production is the major economic activity of the province. Major crops of the province include rice, corn, industrial and commercial crops such as coconut, coffee, abaca and rubber; fruit crops such as banana, mango, pineapple, durian, calamansi, mandarin, and lanzones and vegetable crops to include root crops and tubers.

Mining and Quarrying

The mining and quarrying industry in Davao de Oro has gained significant recognition in Davao Region and even in the whole country. Mining comes second to agriculture that has substantial contribution to the economy of the province.


Based on latest available data, there are 692 industrial and manufacturing establishments in the province, which are categorized mostly as small-scale industries. Among the municipalities, Monkayo has the most number of establishments at 227, followed by New Bataan with 137 and Nabunturan with 115 establishments. Montevista, on the other hand, has the least number, with only 16 establishments.


Davao de Oro is endowed with various natural and physical attractions. Its natural and man-made tourist attractions include waterfalls, caves, lakes, rivers, mountain ranges, rich mine fields, hot and cold springs and inland and beach resorts. These available eco-tourism resources have contributed to the advancement of the provincial economy.


Davao de Oro Brief Profile from the Davao de Oro Provincial Planning and Development Office 

2019 Philippine Statistical Yearbook

Mapa, C. S. (2020, January 23). PSGC 4th Quarter 2019 Updates: Compostela Valley is now Davao de Oro. Retrieved December 17, 2020, from https://psa.gov.ph/content/psgc-4th-quarter-2019-updates-compostela-valley-now-davao-de-oro

2018 Regional Social and Economic Trends Davao, Region

Davao de Oro Official Website