The 1987 Philippine Constitution, under Article XII, Section 9 states that “Congress may establish an independent economic and planning agency headed by the President, which shall, after consultations with the appropriate public agencies, various private sectors, and local government units, recommend to Congress, and implement continuing integrated and coordinated programs and policies for national development.” Until the Congress provides otherwise, the National Economic and Development Authority shall function as the independent planning agency of the government.”

The National Economic and Development Authority was created in 1972 as the government’s central planning body, exercising the functions then vested in the National Economic Council (NEC), the Presidential Economic Staff (PES) and other ad hoc economic bodies. On March 12, 1986, EO No. 5 was issued by Pres. Corazon Aquino, directing a government-wide reorganization to promote economy, efficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of public services.

The NEDA Regional Office XI started its operations in late November 1973. Dr. Edmundo B. Prantilla was its first Regional Executive Director.

On July 22, 1987, EO No. 230 was issued reorganizing the NEDA. Implementation of this EO was completed on February 16, 1988 when the NEDA commenced operations under its reorganized setup. The authority is composed of two separate and distinct entities: the Board and the Secretariat. The NEDA Board is chaired by the President of the Republic and shall primarily be responsible for formulating continuing, coordinated and fully integrated social and economic policies, plans and programs through its various inter-sectoral committees. The NEDA Secretariat serves as the research and technical support of the NEDA Board. The NEDA Secretariat, in addition to the Offices of the Director-General, Deputy Directors-General and Assistant Directors-General, is composed of the National Development Office, Regional Development Office, Central Support Office, and the Regional Offices.

EO No. 230 paved the way to a restructured NEDA Regional Office divisions to Macro-Intersectoral Coordination and Assistance Division (MICAD), Economic Development Division (EDD), Social Development Division (SDD), Infrastructure Development Division (IDD), and Operations Division (OD).

With the issuance of EO 366, s. 2004,  directing a Strategic Review of the Operations and Organizations of the Executive Branch and Providing Options and Incentives for Government Employees who may be Affected by the Rationalization of the Functions and Agencies of the Executive Branch, provides for the adoption of   the functional structure proposed under the NEDA Rationalization Plan per EO No. 366, the divisions were restructured into the Plan and Policy Formulation Division (PPFD), Project Development, Investment Programming and Budgeting Division (PDIPBD), Knowledge Management Division (KMD), Project Monitoring and Evaluation Division (PMED), and the Operations Division (OD).

The approval of the Rationalization Plan of the NEDA pursuant to EO No 366 dated 04 October 2004 renamed the Operations Division (OD) to Finance and Administrative Division.

With the proposed shift from sectoral to functional compartmentalization in the technical divisions, Plan and Policy Formulation Division was renamed to Policy Formulation and Plan Planning Division and the Knowledge Management Division to Development Research Division to support NROs core operation. The Project Development, Investment Programming and Budgeting Division and Project Monitoring and Evaluation Division’s name remain the same.

 DBM-Approved NEDA RatPlan  CLICK HERE

Our Legal Mandate  CLICK HERE

Our Mission and Vision  CLICK HERE

Our Functions  CLICK HERE

Our Organizational Architecture  CLICK HERE